GENERAL MEMBERSHIP FAQs

How do I get started?
Because we don’t collect information on living people, it’s best to start with a deceased family member you want to pay tribute to and add additional people from the family tab of that first profile you created.

To avoid having duplicates in the system we ask for dates (birth/death), locations (birth/death) and both parents first and last names.  If you are trying to add someone who is already in the system, they should appear as possible matches on the right side of the  screen as you are entering their information into the form.

It gets more interesting, however, when you discover other GenerationStation members who have added information on shared relatives.  You can then leverage their research, and connect with those members.

What if I don’t like what someone writes?
Because GenerationStation is an open system, the profiles are editable by any registered Members (free!).  Biographies are editable, while stories and media can be removed if you find the material offensive. You can also click on the ‘Report Abuse’ button on any page to report something or someone who is not adhering to our Code of Conduct.

Do you support GEDCOM files?
Currently, we do not support importing or exporting GEDCOM files.  We hope to provide this in the future.

How do I cancel?
Once you cancel, all your personal account information will be immediately and permanently deleted. If you’re truly ready to pull the plug, simply contact customersupport@generationstation.com.

What happens to all of my content if I cancel?
All of your content remains on GenerationStation unless you remove it.

PREMIUM MEMBERSHIP FAQs

What payment do you accept?
We accept Visa, Mastercard, Discover and American Express. We also accept debit cards with a Visa or Mastercard logo.

How does the billing cycle work?
If you upgrade to a Premium Membership, you will be charged $24.99 for individual or $59.99 for our family-plan (you designate the four Premium Members).  These are 12-month memberships.  All sales are final, so if you cancel before the 12-months have ended, you will be provided the benefits of Premium Membership but will not be renewed.

Comments are closed.